Compared
cPanel alternatives, compared from their own documentation.
Every claim on this page about cPanel, Plesk, DirectAdmin and CyberPanel is taken from a page those companies publish themselves, fetched on 6 September 2026, and linked next to the claim. Where we could not verify something, the page says so instead of guessing.
The difference that matters is not the feature list. It is that three of these four products charge you more as you host more.
KLYRN's paid editions do not count your websites, domains, databases or hosting accounts. The server is the limit.
KLYRN is in beta. Everything described here is listed with its evidence, and the beta is installable today on a clean Ubuntu 24.04 server, x86_64 only. It is tested and it is not finished: use a fresh or non‑critical server. Free is available now; the paid editions are not on sale, because no price has been set. The limitations worth knowing before you install.
Side by side
Five control panels, one table.
Only cells we could verify are filled in. An em dash means we did not find an official statement and would rather leave it blank than guess. One panel at a time: cPanel, Plesk, DirectAdmin.
| KLYRN | cPanel & WHM | Plesk | DirectAdmin | CyberPanel | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| What the licence counts | Licensed servers only | cPanel accounts 1 | Domains 5 | Accounts and domains 8 | Nothing; core is free 12 |
| Entry price | Free edition; paid prices announced at launch | $29.99/mo, 1 account 1 | See Plesk's page 5 | $5/mo USD, 2 accounts 8 | Free core; add-ons from $59/yr 12 |
| Top published tier | No product limits on any paid edition | $69.99/mo, 100 accounts, $0.49 each after 1 | Web Host, unlimited domains 5 | $29/mo USD, unlimited 8 | Add-on bundle $99/yr 12 |
| Free or open-source edition | Free edition, with limits | No; 15-day trial 4 | No; 14-day trial 7 | No; 30-day money-back 9 | Yes, GPL-3.0 core 13 |
| Web server | nginx only | Apache via EasyApache 4; nginx as a reverse proxy in front 3 | Apache with nginx in front on Linux; IIS on Windows 6 | Apache, LiteSpeed, Nginx, Nginx+Apache, Nginx Unit or OpenLiteSpeed 10 | OpenLiteSpeed free; LiteSpeed Enterprise paid 14 |
| Panel port | 7443, its own TLS listener, independent of nginx | 2083 cPanel, 2087 WHM 2 | 8443 7 | 2222 11 | 8090 14 |
| Operating systems | Ubuntu 24.04 LTS only in V1; Debian 12 and 13 in V1.5 | AlmaLinux, CloudLinux, Rocky Linux, Ubuntu 24.04 LTS 3 | Ubuntu, AlmaLinux, Debian, CloudLinux, RHEL, Rocky, CentOS, and Windows Server 6 | RHEL family 8–10, Debian 11–13, Ubuntu 22.04–26.04 10 | Ubuntu 18.04–22.04, AlmaLinux 8–9, CloudLinux 8 14 |
| arm64 | Not yet; x86_64 only | No; the docs state ARM is not supported 3 | Ubuntu 22.04 LTS for ARM 6 | Yes 10 | Not stated |
| Mail hosting | Not in V1, by decision | Exim and Dovecot 4 | Postfix or qmail, Dovecot or Courier, Roundcube 7 | Exim 11 | Postfix and Dovecot 14 |
| Privilege model | Unprivileged web tier; a root core with a closed set of typed operations, every one audited | All four document role tiers (admin, reseller, user). None of them publishes a statement about keeping the web tier off root, so there is nothing here to quote. Read KLYRN's model and judge it against their own security pages. | |||
| cPanel, WHM, Plesk, DirectAdmin, CyberPanel and LiteSpeed are trademarks of their owners; KLYRN is not affiliated with, endorsed by or a partner of any of them. Prices exclude tax and were read on 6 September 2026; they change. If a cell is out of date or wrong, tell us and it is corrected. | |||||
What each licence actually counts
Control-panel pricing pages all look like feature ladders. They are not. Read them again and the ladder is almost always a counter: cPanel counts accounts, Plesk counts domains, DirectAdmin counts both. Growing your hosting business moves you up the ladder whether or not you use a single new feature.
- cPanel & WHM sells four tiers by the number of cPanel accounts on the server: Solo (1 account), Admin (up to 5), Pro (up to 30) and Premier (up to 100, with additional accounts at $0.49 each). Its own page defines an account as "another term for a cPanel user account that manages websites, files, domains, and email accounts". 1
- Plesk sells three editions separated by the number of domains: Web Admin (10 domains), Web Pro (30 domains) and Web Host (unlimited domains). 5
- DirectAdmin sells three tiers by both counters: Personal PLUS (2 accounts, 20 domains), Lite (10 accounts, 50 domains) and Standard (unlimited accounts and domains). 8
- CyberPanel is the exception: the core is free and open source under GPL-3.0, with paid add-ons sold separately. 12 13
- KLYRN counts licensed servers and nothing else. On any paid edition, websites, domains, databases, hosting accounts, WordPress sites and Node.js apps are not limited. Free is the only KLYRN edition with product limits.
We are not publishing Plesk's prices. The pricing page served to us on 6 September 2026 carried a promotion marked "Valid until December 1, 2025" and a notice about a structure "effective January 1, 2026" (both dates already past), so we cannot tell whether the figures on it are current. Read them on Plesk's own page.
cPanel & WHM
The incumbent, and the one most people are trying to leave. Its published ladder, on 6 September 2026, is Solo at $29.99 a month for one account, Admin at $35.99 for up to five, Pro at $53.99 for up to thirty, and Premier at $69.99 for up to a hundred, with further accounts at $0.49 each. Solo, Admin and Pro are marked available on cloud and VPS only; Premier also covers dedicated hardware. Annual billing is offered on the first three tiers. 1
Licensing is tied to the machine: cPanel's page states that a monthly licence requires "the public-facing static IP address of the server", and that only the server's main public IPv4 needs a licence. 1
On the technical side, cPanel runs Apache managed by EasyApache 4, with nginx available in front of it as a reverse proxy rather than as the web server. 3 The panel answers on 2083 and WHM on 2087, with unencrypted counterparts on 2082 and 2086 that cPanel's own security guidance warns against using. 2 Supported systems are AlmaLinux, CloudLinux, Rocky Linux and Ubuntu. On Ubuntu, only 24.04 LTS, with the previous LTS deprecated whenever a new one is added. The system-requirements page states plainly that cPanel does not support ARM. 3
What KLYRN does differently. No account counter, so a server full of customers costs the same as an empty one. nginx as the web server rather than as a proxy in front of Apache. A web tier that runs as an unprivileged user and physically cannot become root, open the panel database or execute a program (described in full on the security page). KLYRN does not support ARM either: the installer refuses it rather than ship something no ARM machine has ever run.
What cPanel does that KLYRN does not. Mail hosting, Apache and .htaccess,
a decade of third-party integrations, RHEL-family support, and a product you can buy and run this afternoon.
Plesk
Plesk is the broadest of the four: it is the only one in this comparison that runs on Windows Server as well as Linux. Its supported list covers Ubuntu 18.04 through 24.04, AlmaLinux 8–10, Debian 10–13, CloudLinux 7–9, RHEL 8–9, Rocky Linux 8, CentOS 7, and Windows Server 2016 through 2025. On Linux it runs Apache supplemented by an nginx reverse proxy; on Windows it runs IIS. 6 The panel answers on 8443 over HTTPS and 8880 over HTTP. 7 Its editions are separated by domain count: Web Admin at 10 domains, Web Pro at 30, Web Host unlimited. 5 Plesk installs with a full-featured 14-day trial licence. 7
Plesk ships a complete mail stack: Postfix or qmail as the transfer agent, Dovecot or Courier for collection, Roundcube for webmail and SpamAssassin for filtering. 7
What KLYRN does differently. No domain counter. One operating system and one web server instead of a matrix, which is a smaller product but a much smaller thing to get wrong.
What Plesk does that KLYRN does not. Windows Server, IIS, mail, and support for eight Linux distributions. If any of those is a requirement, Plesk is the answer and KLYRN is not.
DirectAdmin
The cheapest commercial entry point of the three. DirectAdmin publishes Personal PLUS at $5 a month for 2 accounts and 20 domains, Lite at $15 for 10 accounts and 50 domains, and Standard at $29 for unlimited accounts and domains; the page states explicitly that all prices are in US dollars, and only monthly prices are published. Volume discounts start at 15% after four Standard licences and reach 40% at thirty-five. 8 Since 1 August 2023 the Pro Pack concept is gone and every feature is included in the licences that are for sale. 9
It supports the widest OS range of the commercial three (the RHEL family 8, 9 and 10, Debian 11, 12 and 13, and Ubuntu 22.04, 24.04 and 26.04, each with a published end-of-life date) on both amd64 and arm64, and it offers six web-server choices: Apache, LiteSpeed, Nginx, Nginx with Apache, Nginx Unit and OpenLiteSpeed. 10 The panel listens on 2222. 11 There is no free trial licence; there is a 30-day money-back guarantee and a public demo. 9
What KLYRN does differently. Nothing is counted on a paid edition, so 20 domains and 2,000 cost the same. One web server, chosen for you, with a tuned configuration whose every value shows the rule that produced it.
What DirectAdmin does that KLYRN does not. Mail, six web servers, three operating-system families, and $5 a month you can pay today.
CyberPanel
The free one. CyberPanel Core is published as open source under GPL-3.0 13
and its own add-ons page describes the core as 100% free and open source. Money is made on add-ons instead:
a bundle of six (SSL V2, WordPress Manager Pro, Backup V2, Email Debugger, Root File Manager and Rspamd
Manager) at $59 a year or $169 for a lifetime licence, an .htaccess module for OpenLiteSpeed at
$59 a year or $199 lifetime, and a combined bundle at $99 a year. 12
The free edition runs OpenLiteSpeed; the paid edition runs LiteSpeed Web Server Enterprise. The panel answers on 8090, and Postfix and Dovecot are installed by default. 14 It also bundles PowerDNS, an FTP server and phpMyAdmin. 13
One thing to check before you choose it. CyberPanel's own installation page, last updated in June 2024, lists Ubuntu 18.04, 20.04 and 22.04, AlmaLinux 8 and 9, and CloudLinux 8: nothing newer than Ubuntu 22.04. 14 That may simply be an un-updated page rather than a real limit, but we will not state support the vendor has not stated. Check it against their current docs.
What KLYRN does differently. KLYRN is not open source, so on price alone CyberPanel wins and we are not going to pretend otherwise. What KLYRN offers instead is a security boundary it will describe to you in full, an installer that verifies each of its own eleven stages, and no phpMyAdmin next to your customers' data (a deliberate refusal, not an omission).
Where KLYRN is narrower, and will stay narrower
A comparison page that only lists wins is an advertisement. These are the reasons to choose one of the other four instead, and most of them are decisions rather than gaps.
- No mail hosting. Not in V1, and not as a rushed addition later. A mail server is a permanent security, deliverability and support burden, and a new provider's IP reputation starts at zero. If your customers need mailboxes on the same box, every other panel here does that and KLYRN does not.
-
No
.htaccessat runtime. nginx has no equivalent. KLYRN reads a migrated site's.htaccess, translates the rules it understands into nginx you review before applying, and lists the rest by file and line. It will not run the file. - No phpMyAdmin bundled. A large PHP application with a long CVE history, running next to every customer's database, is not something to install by default.
- One operating system, one architecture. Ubuntu 24.04 LTS on x86_64 in V1; Debian 12 and 13 follow in V1.5. The installer refuses an ARM machine, because no ARM machine has ever run KLYRN.
- No general systemd front end. KLYRN manages the services it owns. A panel that can stop anything is a panel that can brick a server.
- It is a beta. The four products above have been running other people's businesses for years. KLYRN has not. That is the honest reason not to move a production fleet today. The full list of what it does not do.
Questions people actually ask
- Is KLYRN a drop-in replacement for cPanel?
-
No. KLYRN hosts PHP, WordPress and Node.js sites on nginx and does not ship a mail stack, does not run
.htaccess(it translates the rules it understands into nginx and lists the rest), and runs only on Ubuntu 24.04 LTS in V1. If your customers rely on cPanel-hosted mailboxes, or on rewrite rules you have not reviewed, it is not a drop-in replacement today. - Does KLYRN limit how many sites, domains or accounts I can host?
- Not on a paid edition. Websites, domains, databases, hosting accounts, WordPress sites and Node.js apps are unlimited; the server is the limit. Free is the only edition with product limits. Every limit, edition by edition.
- How much does KLYRN cost?
- The Free edition costs nothing. Prices for the paid editions are announced on the day of the first stable release, together with the release. That is not evasion; they are not set yet, and a number invented for a web page is worse than no number.
- Can I move an existing cPanel account to KLYRN?
- Yes: upload a cPanel or DirectAdmin backup archive, or point KLYRN at the live server over SSH as root, as the cPanel account itself, or as any Unix user. Nothing is installed on the old server. Mailboxes are recorded but not migrated. What migration does, step by step, and what is not proven yet.
- Is KLYRN open source?
- No. It is a commercial product with a free edition. CyberPanel is the open-source option in this comparison; its core is GPL-3.0. 13
- Can I run KLYRN today?
-
Yes, in beta.
curl -fsSL https://get.klyrn.com | sudo bashinstalls the signed beta build on a clean Ubuntu 24.04 LTS server, x86_64 only. Free costs nothing and needs no card. It is tested and it is not finished, so use a fresh or non-critical server; there is no stable release yet, and the paid editions are not on sale. What that means in practice.
Sources
Every page below was fetched on 6 September 2026. Prices change; the date is what makes this checkable rather than merely confident. cPanel's pricing page shows amounts with "$" and the words "Excl. Tax" but does not name the currency in words, so we quote the symbol as published.
- cpanel.net/pricing: tier ladder, account definition, IP-based licensing, cloud/VPS availability.
- api.docs.cpanel.net: cPanel API introduction and WHM API introduction (ports 2082/2083 and 2086/2087).
- docs.cpanel.net: system requirements, Ubuntu requirements, AlmaLinux requirements (ARM statement) and EasyApache 4 / NGINX with reverse proxy.
- cpanel.net: 15-day trial, Exim Configuration Manager and Mailserver Configuration (Dovecot).
- plesk.com/pricing: edition names and domain counts. Prices deliberately not quoted; see the note above.
- docs.plesk.com: system requirements and web servers.
- docs.plesk.com: ports used by Plesk, 14-day trial licence and software requirements (mail components).
- directadmin.com/pricing.php: tiers, account and domain counts, USD statement, volume discounts.
- docs.directadmin.com: licensing and directadmin.com/demo.php (money-back guarantee, no trial licence).
- docs.directadmin.com: supported operating systems, installation overview (architectures) and web services.
- docs.directadmin.com: general usage (port 2222) and Exim.
- cyberpanel.net/cyberpanel-addons: free core, add-on prices.
- github.com/usmannasir/cyberpanel: GPL-3.0 licence, bundled components.
- cyberpanel.net: installation (operating systems, page last updated June 2024), CyberPanel as a cPanel alternative (port 8090, OpenLiteSpeed vs LiteSpeed Enterprise) and SSL for Postfix and Dovecot.
Still comparing?
Hear the prices the day they are set.
Pricing and the first signed release are announced together. Leave an email and you will get exactly one message when that happens.
One email when pricing and the first release are announced. Nothing else.